Almost everything a visa holder is told about buying — twenty percent down, three years
left on the status, two years of local credit — is one lender's own rule sitting on top of the
guideline, not the guideline. The agency rule is one sentence long and says the opposite. The one
piece of folklore that runs the other way is newer than most guides: the low-deposit federal-insured
route closed to non-permanent residents in May 2025. Nothing you enter below reaches any server.
Your position
The rulebook, verified
The agency rule is one sentence, and it is the opposite of the folklore: same terms as a citizen verified
Fannie Mae's Selling Guide section B2-2-02 states that Fannie Mae purchases and securitizes mortgages made to non–U.S. citizens who are lawful permanent or non-permanent residents of the United States under the same terms that are available to U.S. citizens. There is no visa-status-specific down payment, no visa-status-specific loan-to-value ceiling and no visa-status-specific interest rate in the guideline itself. A work-visa holder who meets the ordinary credit, income and reserve requirements is, at the agency level, an ordinary borrower.
The FHA low-down-payment path closed to non-permanent residents in May 2025 — and most guides still recommend it verified
HUD's Mortgagee Letter 2025-09, issued 26 March 2025, revised the residency requirements for FHA-insured mortgages. For FHA case numbers assigned on or after 25 May 2025, only U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents are eligible; non-permanent residents — including work-visa and student-visa holders — are no longer eligible for FHA Title II Single Family Forward programs, reported as covering 203(b), 203(k), credit-qualifying and non-credit-qualifying streamline refinances, and the HECM reverse-mortgage program. This matters because the FHA route was the standard advice for a first-time buyer without a large deposit, and a guide written before 2025 will still give it.
HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-09, Revisions to Residency Requirements (issued 26 March 2025; effective for case numbers assigned on or after 25 May 2025)primary sourceverified 2026-08-27
'You need three years left on your visa' is a lender's rule, not the agency's — the guideline sets no minimum verified
The agency guideline addresses whether the borrower is lawfully present, not how long their current authorisation still runs. It sets no minimum remaining visa validity period. The one-to-three years of remaining validity that borrowers are commonly told they need is an underwriting overlay applied by an individual lender, and it varies between lenders. A near-term expiry date is therefore something a lender may weigh — often alongside evidence that an extension is already filed — rather than a threshold written into the rule the loan is sold under.
Fannie Mae Selling Guide B2-2-02, read for what it does not requireprimary sourceverified 2026-08-27
An overlay is a lender's own stricter rule stacked on the agency guideline — which is why the same file gets different answers verified
Lenders may impose requirements stricter than the agency guideline: more documentation, longer remaining authorisation, larger cash reserves, additional proof of continued employment, or refusing to accept a particular document such as an Employment Authorization Document. These are called overlays. They are the lender's own policy, they are not disclosed as separate from the rule, and they differ between lenders. The practical consequence is the one worth acting on: a decline is a decline from one lender, not a finding about the borrower, and the widely-repeated advice to obtain at least three quotes on a visa-holder file is about willingness to approve at all, not only about the rate.
Industry practice: lender overlays on agency guidelines, as consistently described across lender and trade sourcesprimary sourceverified 2026-08-27
The 'two years of US credit history' requirement is asserted widely and was not confirmed here — this page states the disagreement rather than resolving it verified
Several lender-facing sources state that a non-permanent resident borrower needs a two-year credit history. That sits uneasily beside the same-terms language in the guideline itself, and this session could not confirm from the sources reviewed whether the two-year figure is an agency requirement, a common overlay, or a restatement of an ordinary credit-scoring requirement that applies to any borrower. It is stated here as unresolved. Treat any specific credit-history minimum you are quoted as that lender's answer until you have seen it in the guideline, and ask the lender directly which of their conditions are agency requirements and which are their own.
Disputed across sources — no agency provision confirmed this sessionprimary sourceverified 2026-08-27
The guideline deliberately does not say what document proves lawful presence — the lender decides, which is why two lenders can disagree and neither is wrong verified
Fannie Mae does not specify the precise documentation a lender must obtain to verify that a non–U.S. citizen borrower is legally present. The lender makes that determination on the circumstances of the individual case, using documentation it deems appropriate. In practice lenders commonly look for a Social Security number or ITIN together with one of an unexpired Employment Authorization Document, a valid work visa, or a passport carrying entry or I-551 stamps. Because the guideline leaves this open, one lender may accept a document another refuses without either departing from the rule — so a document-based decline is one of the most worthwhile reasons to take the same file elsewhere.
Fannie Mae Selling Guide B2-2-02, documentation provisionprimary sourceverified 2026-08-27
Nothing on this page is ranked, recommended, or paid for verified
This page has no referral, affiliate, lead-generation or other commercial relationship with any mortgage lender, broker or originator, named or unnamed. It names no lender as suitable for any reader and ranks nothing. Where a source used to verify a figure is itself a lender or originator — several are, because underwriting practice is mostly written down by the people who underwrite — that is stated in the figure's own review notes. Every comparison surface in this category is usually the point of sale for what it ranks; this one sells nothing, which is the only reason it can say what it says.
Editorial disclosure — not a citable external ruleprimary sourceverified 2026-08-27
This page cannot tell you whether any particular lender will approve you, and it
does not try — that turns on a file it cannot see, and on overlays no lender publishes. What it can
tell you is which of the conditions you are quoted come from the rule the loan is sold under and
which are that lender's own, because the second kind is negotiable by going elsewhere and the first
is not. It names no lender, ranks nothing, and has no referral or affiliate relationship with anyone
in this market. Whether buying is the right call at all, with a status that renews, is a different
question at Rent vs Buy Under Visa Uncertainty.
We already computed the public version — it is complete and stays free.
Keep your status dates and documents in one place and the Square has them when a lender asks: Join DesiSquare and the Square remembers your dates, re-runs this
when the rules change, and puts a credentialed human one message away.